Woman researching marijuana card guidelines.
There are two programs for the use of weed in Illinois called the Compassionate Use Of Medical Marijuana Program. Illinois has already become the 11th state to legalize marijuana for recreational use, but until that is in effect, these two programs are in play.
The Two Programs Are:
References: Medical Cannabis Patient Qualification. (n.d.). Retrieved May 27, 2019, from Find Medical Relief: http://ilcannabismd.com/wizard (Opioid Alternative Pilot Program. (n.d.). Retrieved May 27, 2019).
What Are The MCPP-Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Qualifications?
Patients need one or more conditions for a medical cannabis registry identification card.
TO QUALIFY FOR A REGISTRY IDENTIFICATION CARD, THEY MUST:
- Identification proving your 18
- Proof of U.S residency
- Proof of identity
- Will need to have a signed physician certification (unless you are a veteran receiving care at a VA facility)
- Cannot have a school bus permit or Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
- Cannot be in active duty law enforcement, such as a correctional/probation officer, or a firefighter.
- Must have one of the below qualifying medical conditions.
What Are the Medical Marijuana Card Qualifications?
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Arnold-Chiari malformation
- Inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy)
- Crohn’s disease
- CRPS (complex regional pain syndrome Type II)
- Fibrous Dysplasia
- Hepatitis C
- Interstitial cystitis
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Myasthenia Gravis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Concussion Syndrome
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Reflex sympathetic dystrophy
- Residual limb pain
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Seizures and Epilepsy.
- Intense fibromyalgia
- Spinal cord damage
- Spinocerebellar ataxia
- Sjogren’s syndrome
- Tarlov cysts
- Tourette syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
- Wasting syndrome (Cachexia)
- Spinal cord illness (including but not
- limited to arachnoiditis)
Reference: Medical Cannabis Patient Qualification. (n.d.). Retrieved May 27, 2019, from Find Medical Relief: http://ilcannabismd.com/wizard.
Rules About Minors
PATIENTS UNDER 18
Require two doctors:
- One to provide a certification.
- One doctor to review it.
Note: Designate one caregiver.
Designated adult caregivers of patients who are under 18 years of age can only buy medical cannabis-infused products from a dispensary that is registered.
- A School District
- Public School
- Charter School
- Nonpublic School
- Student’s Parent
Will then be able to give the medical cannabis-infused products to the student, on a school bus or school grounds.
The qualifying patient (student) and the guardian or parent, who must be a designated caregiver, require registry identification cards.
What Are the Medical Cannabis Card Fees?
- $100 for one year.
- $250 for three years.
- $200 for two years.
Reduced fees are available for Veterans and people enrolled in the federal Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability program.
Opioid Participants OAPP – What Do I Need to Know?
(Initiated January 31, 2019)
- OAPP-Opioid Alternative Pilot Program
- must be at least 21 years old
- Proof of residency
- Proof of identity
- Licensed physicians required that the patient has a qualified and certifiable medical disorder.
- Physician certifications are only valid for 90 days. They can be restored to allow patients to continue to get medical cannabis.
Note A $10 fee required for each 90-day registration period.
The Caregivers Guide to Medical Marijuana
- A designated caregiver can conduct the transporting of a patient’s cannabis. The caregiver must register to get and transport marijuana to the patient who is registered.
- Caregivers must fully complete a caregiver application.
- $25 caregiver fee included documentation
- Proof of residency
- Proof of age and identity
- The Caregiver’s signature on the document
- The caregiver’s request must with the patient’s request.
Note: You will be able to download your temporary card within 24 hours!
Download the “Caregivers Application” by clicking here.
Marijuana License Card Holder Laws?
People in possession of a state-issued medical marijuana license can:
- Purchase 2.5 ounces every two weeks or 14-day period.
- Patients can submit a waiver under the following rules:
- A physician’s signature is required if the patient plans on purchasing more than 2.5 ounces.
- Physician statement authorizing that 2.5 ounces will be inadequate as an acceptable source to lessen an incapacitating medical disorder.
- If you are purchasing non-flowered, edibles concentrate, or other cannabis commodities, the marijuana flower pre-weight must be utilized.
Card Holder Penalties
Reference: Illinois Laws & Penalties – NORML – Working to Reform Marijuana Laws. (2019). Retrieved from https://norml.org/laws/item/illinois-penalties
5 Cannabis Do’s and Dont’s to keep in mind if you’re in Illinois
- Adhere to Drug-free policies.
- Employees need to adhere to cannabis policies, including drug testing and zero tolerance.
- Termination can occur if an employee fails a drug test.
Medical Marijuana Business Licenses
- 55 Licensed Medical Cannabis Dispensaries
- 2018 Revenue $136M, +55% LY
- 2018 Cultivation Centers — $74M
- 52,365 qualifying patients
- 371 persons under 18 years of age
Dry flower sales are average of 49% of transactions for the year.
March 2019 Update
- Revenue $17M
- $8M in dry flower
- $9.6M in concentrates/ infused
- OAPP patients registered — 1,000
- 350 Physicians registered
- MCPP-61,231 qualifying patients
- Cresco Labs expansion 5/3
|Medical Marijuana Business Licenses||Non-refundable fee||Annual Fee|
|Cultivation Facilities (3 MAX)||$25, 000||$200,000|
|Dispensary Facilities (3 MAX)||$25, 000||$200,000|
Note: Submission of a fee does not guarantee a license. The fee Submission is non-refundable.
- $100,000 renewal fee
- $500,000 in liquid assets
- $2M in Bond or escrow
- $150,000 for location and product
- Grand Total $3M Cash!
- Physicians must give up the license
- Background and fingerprinting required
Medical Marijuana Business Licenses Application Process
Merit Base Structure (rank applicants).
- Background review
- Know of the Principal Officers or Managers
- Business Proposal
- Community Connection
- Availability to Patients via Location
For information on the program visit the IDPH website.
Questions about caregiver registration, call or email the Illinois Department of Public Health Division of Medical Cannabis at 855-636-3688 or DPH.MedicalCannabis@illinois.gov.
(Sprouting) made by [Freepik] from www.flaticon.com /Man dancing was created by [photo3idea_studio] from www.flaticon.com. (Car) icon made by [Vectors Market] from www.flaticon.com. (Prison, Jail) icon made by [Freepik] from www.flaticon.com. (School) icon made by [Freepik] from www.flaticon.com.