CANNRA Adds Five State Members and Announces Regulatory Priorities


The Cannabis Regulators Association (CANNRA) announced that regulators from five additional states had joined the organization, which seeks to provide government jurisdictions with data to help make informed decisions when considering whether or how to legalize or expand regulated cannabis.

CANNRA provides a much-needed forum for regulators to engage with each other to identify and develop best practices and model policies that safeguard public health and safety while promoting regulatory certainty for industry participants, according to their website.

The New States to Join

State cannabis regulators from Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, and Montana have joined the nonpartisan group that provides a forum for policymakers, elected officials, researchers, and other stakeholders to engage with regulators from across the country and receive unbiased information and recommendations regarding the impact and implementation of cannabis policies.

“The Cannabis Regulators Association is pleased to welcome state regulators from Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, and Montana as our newest members,” said Andrew Brisbo CANNRA, Vice President and Executive Director of the Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency. “Their experiences regulating cannabis will significantly contribute to CANNRA’s work identifying and developing best practices that safeguard public health and safety, and promote regulatory certainty for industry participants,” he said.

Regulators overseeing medical cannabis programs in Connecticut, Florida, and Georgia, and those working to establish recently legalized adult-use industries in Arizona and Montana join their counterparts from Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, and Washington; bringing the total number of member states to 24.

Regulatory Priorities

CANNRA also shared the organization’s regulatory priorities, each of which will have a corresponding special committee to gather data, engage with relevant stakeholders, and spearhead policy development in each identified area. The 15 special committees will comprise CANNRA members who specialize in that particular regulatory area in their home jurisdiction. Special Committees announced include:

1. Special Committee on Social and Economic Equity

2. Special Committee on Analytical Testing and Product Safety

3. Special Committee on Public Education, Awareness, and Youth Prevention

4. Special Committee on Public Health and Safety Monitoring and Surveillance

5. Special Committee on Packaging, Labeling, Advertising, and Marketing

6. Special Committee on Energy and Environmental Policy

7. Special Committee on Medical Use and Clinical Research

8. Special Committee on Cannabinoid Hemp

9. Special Committee on Municipal and County Regulation and Coordination

10. Special Committee on Licensing, Inspections, Compliance, and Enforcement

11. Special Committee on Banking, Finance, and Insurance

12. Special Committee on Market Structure and Taxation

13. Special Committee on Impaired Driving and Workplace Safety

14. Special Committee on Federal Policy and Engagement

15. Special Committee on Interstate Coordination

“CANNRA’s committee structure will leverage our member’s specific expertise and unique experiences, tackling common issues. Each committee will engage with relevant subject matter experts and regulatory partners to further policy development and data collection for each committee’s area of focus.” said CANNRA President Norman Birenbaum.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here